Albrecht Durer: A Legacy Earned

The significance and contribution of Albrecht Durer to the art community is not only amazing but also a source of wonder as to how understated it is. Yet, he was not only collected by enthusiasts but artists, and he was imitated as well.

His woodcuts and engravings were collected from the Mediterranean to the North Sea. They were in the hands of such artists as Italian Renaissance masters as Raphael, Montegna, and Bellini.

Albrecht Durer’s print oeuvre was found in the collections of such dignitaries as Henry VIII of England, King Christian II of Scandinavia, Emperor Maximillian I (of course), Princess Margaret, Regent of the Netherlands, Maximilian’s grandson Charles V, and even the son of Christopher Columbus, Ferdinand.

Raphael’s own masterpiece, Christ Bearing the Cross (c. 1516) borrowed the figure of Christ from Albrecht Durer’s woodcut, Christ Bearing the Cross (1509) from the Small Passion.

Tintoretto, the great Italian Mannerist of the Venetian school, mirrored the Holy Father holding the body of Christ in the Lamentation (c. 1560).

Its source came from Albrecht Durer’s woodcut, Trinity (1511).

El Greco, the Spanish Mannerist also borrowed from Durer’s Trinity, absorbing outlines and content in his work, The Throne of Grace (1577).

Even Rembrandt, the great Dutch painter and printmaker echoed the figure of Christ in his etching, Christ Driving the Money Changers from the Temple (1638).
Its design came from the Albrecht Durer woodcut (of the same name) from the Small Passion (1509-1511).
Impressive enough; however, one of Albrecht Durer’s most incredible legacies involves the Italian Renaissance master, Michelangelo,  who reportedly told Charles V in a conversation that if he were not Michelangelo he would rather be Albrecht Durer than the Emperor.
Quite a tribute to Albrecht Durer: a legacy earned.

67 Comments

Filed under Why Durerpost?

67 responses to “Albrecht Durer: A Legacy Earned

  1. Hi. A great blog. I wish I could find the Follow button. I am a huge fan of Herr Duerer! I spent a year in Nuernberg a long time ago.

    I have a art/art history blog. Please visit me.

    Best wishes. Elliott (elliottingotham.wordpress.com)

    • Elliot, I am still pretty much of a blog neophyte, so I wish I could tell you where to find the Follow button, but alas, I cannot. I agree with you: Durer Rocks!Thanks for visiting.

  2. Pingback: URL

  3. As I website owner I conceive the content material here is rattling excellent , thanks for your efforts. 780180

  4. Hello Guru, what entice you to post an article. This article was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday. 244955

  5. Hey, you used to write superb, but the last couple of posts have been kinda boring¡K I miss your super writings. Past couple of posts are just a bit out of track! come on! 912015

  6. As I web-site possessor I believe the content material matter here is rattling amazing , appreciate it for your efforts. You must maintain it up forever! Very best of luck. 478490

  7. I like this post, enjoyed this 1 regards for posting . 823087

  8. The Twitter application page will open. This really is excellent if you’ve got several thousand followers, but as you get a lot more and a lot more the usefulness of this tool is downgraded. 556887

  9. It’s essential to have having access to the understanding posted here 258927

  10. You produced some decent points there. I looked on the internet for that problem and located most individuals goes along with along together with your internet web site. 421919

  11. I enjoy your function , regards for all of the informative posts . 332701

  12. uh oh guess you were right

  13. its fantastic as your other articles : D, regards for posting . 815937

  14. Taking a look forward to peer you. 40843

  15. Would love to perpetually get updated great blog ! . 983247

  16. I truly enjoy examining on this web site , it has great content . 168046

  17. It is genuinely a cool and beneficial piece of information. I’m glad which you basically shared this beneficial data with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing. 455689

  18. Quite intriguing information !Perfect just what I was seeking for! 907625

  19. Good post, well put together. Thanks. I will be back soon to check out for updates. Cheers 30614

  20. Would love to perpetually get updated great blog ! . 548971

  21. Generally I do not read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, very great post. 382218

  22. But wanna remark which you have a quite decent internet internet site , I really like the style it genuinely stands out. 848132

  23. I truly enjoy seeking by way of on this internet internet site , it holds superb content material . 419683

  24. It is practically impossible to uncover knowledgeable males and girls during this subject, even so you sound like do you know what you are discussing! Thanks 268430

  25. Oh my goodness! a amazing post dude. A lot of thanks. Thnkx 44269

  26. What a lovely weblog page. I will surely be back once again. Please maintain writing! 826107

  27.  

    There is clearly a lot to know about this. I think you made various good points in features also. 10240

    • Scholars have spent a lifetime acquainting themselves with masterworks. I pray I live long enough to learn one-tenth of what they learn. Thanks for visiting. B. Mathew

  28. Nowhere on the Internet is there this much quality and clear information on this subject. How do I know? I know because I’ve searched this topic at length. Thank you. 969352

  29. Thank you for your amazing post! It has long been really valuable. I hope which you will proceed sharing your wisdom with us. 719069

  30. You ought to experience a contest personally with the finest blogs on-line. I’m going to suggest this page! 292302

  31. I generally cant discover it in me to care enough to leaves a comment for articles on the web but this was really pretty great, thanks and keep it up, Ill check back once more 909152

  32. A person essentially help to make seriously articles I would state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular publish incredible. Fantastic job! 818661

  33. What is your most noted accomplishment. They may want good listeners rather than good talkers. 47551

Leave a comment